Nuremberg Germany Travel Guide
Nuremberg Germany Travel Guide

Free Nuremberg Walking Tour:


Walking Tour Location: Old Town Nuremberg (Altstadt)
Cost: Free, Self-Guided (Museum costs listed below)
Style: Do-It-Yourself Walking Tour (Self Guided
Start:
  Nuremberg Train Station  (Hauptbahnhof)
End:  White Tower Subway Stop (Weißer Turm)
Walking Distance: 2.3 Miles
Time: 2 Hours for Walk (with attractions 6 hours)
Fun Scale: 9.5 out of 10

1. Nürnberg City Walls & Moat (Stadtmauer):

About The Tower of Our Lady: Right across the road from the train station, this amazing city wall watchtower served as the gateway and toll stop in Medieval times for visitors from the South (Regensburg & Munich) entering Nuremberg.  While there are a number of watchtowers and wall sections on our free Nuremberg walking tour, the Tower of Our Lady is our favorite in town outside of the castle.

The tower was named for the nearby Saint Klara Convent (Poor Claire’s) which operated from 1230 until 1596 when it was closed in the Reformation.  Run by Dominican nuns, the convent was inclosed in inside the city walls when they were expanded to the new Tower of Our Lady.  While most of the old convent was torn down by the late-1800s, the church and part of the cemetery still survive today.

2. Royal Craftsmen Courtyard (Handwerkerhof):

About The Royal Craftsmen Courtyard: Created inside a former defensive wall of the last wall section in 1971 to celebrate the 500th anniversary of Albrecht Durer’s birthday.  Is it like a year-round Xmas market.  Can see Goldsmiths, doll makers, glass cutters, leather, gingerbread makers, and potters at work

3. Tower of Our Lady (Frauentorturm):

About The Tower of Our Lady: Right across the road from the train station, this amazing city wall watchtower served as the gateway and toll stop in Medieval times for visitors from the South (Regensburg & Munich) entering Nuremberg.  While there are a number of watchtowers and wall sections on our free Nuremberg walking tour, the Tower of Our Lady is our favorite in town outside of the castle.

The tower was named for the nearby Saint Klara Convent (Poor Claire’s) which operated from 1230 until 1596 when it was closed in the Reformation.  Run by Dominican nuns, the convent was inclosed in inside the city walls when they were expanded to the new Tower of Our Lady.  While most of the old convent was torn down by the late-1800s, the church and part of the cemetery still survive today.

4. Saint Klara Convent:

About Saint Klara Convent: Right across the road from the train station, this amazing city wall watchtower served as the gateway and toll stop in Medieval times for visitors from the South (Regensburg & Munich) entering Nuremberg.  While there are a number of watchtowers and wall sections on our free Nuremberg walking tour, the Tower of Our Lady is our favorite in town outside of the castle.

The tower was named for the nearby Saint Klara Convent (Poor Claire’s) which operated from 1230 until 1596 when it was closed in the Reformation.  Run by Dominican nuns, the convent was inclosed in inside the city walls when they were expanded to the new Tower of Our Lady.  While most of the old convent was torn down by the late-1800s, the church and part of the cemetery still survive today.

5. Toll Hall Granary (Mauthalle):

About Toll Hall: Inner Women’s Gate for the city was stood here until it did its last expansion outward in 1498.  84 meters long, 20 meters wide and 29 meters high – what the largest of 12 granaries built by the Free Imperial City of Nuremberg. Erected by Hans Beheim, the grain stored there to the citizens of Nuremberg in times of crisis.

From 1571 onward, the city’s customs house and municipal scales were located in the ground floor of the building – hence the name “Maut”, as toll is the German word for toll.  the Herrenkeller was located in the medieval vaulted cellars.  was bombed three times from 1943-45 with the first one burning the roof and the last one burning the half the building down requiring a ton of repair.  Since 1994 a brewery has returned to the cellars called Barfüßer.

6. Saint Lawrence Church (Sankt Lorenzkirche):

About Saint Lawrence Church: gives the neighborhood the name Lorenz.  three-aisled basilica from the 1200s, choir 1445, inside is a mix of Romanesque and Gothic.  Fountain of Virtue (Tugendbrunnen) outside is great as is the Nassauer Haus.